ICANN/DNSO

DNSO GA election to designate its representatives to two Names Council Task Forces: IDN and dot org, August 2001

17 August 2001

  1. The Names Council asked the General Assembly to designate its own representatives to two NC Task Forces: IDN and dot org.

    The charter for the NC IDN Task Force is described in the NC Business Plan http://www.dnso.org/dnso/notes/2001-02.NCbusinessplan.html

  2. The GA Chair asked the Secretariat to initiate an election process to designate the GA representatives to two Task Forces: IDN and dot org.

  3. The Secretariat determined that this election will take place between 17 August and 31 August 2001, with the following agenda:

    • Friday, 17 Aug - Call for nominations issued
    • Friday, 24 Aug - List of candidates closed
    • Friday, 24 Aug - Vote of the GA voting registry initiated
    • Friday, 31 Aug - Vote of the GA voting registry closed
    • Saturday, 1 Sep - Results calculated and announced

  4. Nomination of candidates to represent the GA to two NC Task Forces: IDN and dot org:
    Open Friday, 17 Aug 2001, 10:00 UTC, 12:00 CET (Paris),
    Closed Friday, 24 Aug 2001, 10:00 UTC, 12:00 CET (Paris)

    The acceptance period closes on Friday, 24 Aug 2001 at 13:00 UTC, 15:00 CET (Paris), 3 hours later than nominations.

    (For local time in other places see http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/)

  5. A Watchdog Committee has been formed to police the nomination process to help detect and cure any instances of fraudulent activity in connection with the nomination process.

    Any instances of fraudulent nominations should be reported to this committee at the following email address: ga-watchdog@dnso.org, with a copy to the Names Council at council@dnso.org, This committee and the Names Council shall have the sole discretion as to how to deal with any such reported activity.

    Watchdog Committee list archive in http://www.dnso.org/clubpublic/ga-watchdog/Arc00/

    The members to the Watchdog Committee in 2001 election are:

  6. Election by the General Assembly to designate its representatives to two NC Task Forces: IDN and dot org.

    The Electorate will be those GA members who subscribed to the GA Voting Registry http://www.dnso.org/dnso/notes/2000.GA-voting-registry.html.

    Open Friday, 24 Aug, 16:00 UTC, 18:00 CET (Paris),
    Closed Friday, 31 Aug, 16:00 UTC, 18:00 CET (Paris)

    (For local time in other places see http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/)

    The results are due no later than Saturday 1 Sep 2001, at 22:00 UTC, 24:00 CET (Paris), and will be published in http://www.dnso.org/dnso/notes/2001.GA-IDN-dotorgTF-vote.html


    Information from:
    DNSO Secretariat