ICANN/DNSO
DNSO Mailling lists archives

[ga]


<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>

[ga] "Internet users will have 7 new generic Top Level Domains (gTLDs)" ???



"Internet users will have 7 new generic Top Level Domains (gTLDs)" ???

.firm, .store, .web, .arts, .rec, .info, .nom

will...not might


-----Original Message-----
From: JIM FLEMING [mailto:JimFleming@prodigy.net]
Sent: Sunday, June 03, 2001 6:52 PM
To: B.Segal@CERN.CH; 104056.110@COMPUSERVE.COM; Jun@WIDE.AD.JP;
gnu@TOAD.COM; George.Sadowsky@NYU.EDU; MSanroma@NIL.FUT.ES;
wangenge@SDNP.CM; Kees.Neggers@SURFNET.NL; Maxwell@chiliad.co.uk;
TKamel@IDSC.GOV.EG; gih@telstra. net; huitema@HUITEMA.NET;
St.Amour@ISOC.ORG; John.Gage@SUN.COM; byfraser@CISCO.COM; rosa.
delgado@sita. int; Charm@KSC.NET.TH; vinton.g.cerf@WCOM.COM; Brian E
Carpenter; Burack@ISOC.ORG
Cc: oswindle@ftc. gov; ksmith@ntia. doc. gov; krose@ntia. doc. gov;
John_McCain@McCain. senate. gov; 'gstrawn@nsf. gov'; Eric. Menge@sba.
gov; FOIA@FTC. GOV
Subject: "Internet users will have 7 new generic Top Level Domains
(gTLDs)" ???


http://www.isoc.org/isoc/general/trustees/board.shtml
Board of Trustees
July 2000 - June 2001 Name Region Term of Office Officer
Martin Burack
<Burack@ISOC.ORG> USA
Americas 1999 - 2002
Brian E. Carpenter*
<brian@HURSLEY.IBM.COM> UK
Europe 2000 - 2003 Chair
Vinton Cerf*
<vinton.g.cerf@WCOM.COM> USA
Americas 1998 - 2001
Srisakdi Charmonman
<Charm@KSC.NET.TH> THAILAND
Asia-Pacific 1999 - 2002
Rosa M. Delgado*
<Rosa.Delgado@SITA.INT> SWITZERLAND
Europe 2000 - 2003
Barbara Fraser
<byfraser@CISCO.COM> USA
Americas 2000 - 2003
John Gage
<John.Gage@SUN.COM> USA
Americas 1999 - 2002
Lynn St. Amour*
<St.Amour@ISOC.ORG> USA
Americas 2001 - President/ CEO
Christian Huitema
<huitema@HUITEMA.NET> FRANCE
Europe 1998 - 2001
Geoff Huston*
<GIH@TELSTRA.NET> AUSTRALIA
Asia/Pacific 1998 - 2001 Secretary
Tarek Kamel
<TKamel@IDSC.GOV.EG> EGYPT
Middle East/Africa 1999 - 2002
Christine Maxwell
<Maxwell@chiliad.co.uk> FRANCE
Europe 2000 - 2003
Kees Neggers*
<Kees.Neggers@SURFNET.NL> NETHERLANDS
Europe 1998 - 2001
Wawa Ngenge
<wangenge@SDNP.CM> CAMEROON
Middle East/Africa 2000 - 2003
Manuel SanromÓ
<MSanroma@NIL.FUT.ES> SPAIN
Europe 1999 - 2002
George Sadowsky
<George.Sadowsky@NYU.EDU> USA
Americas 2000 - 2001 VP - Education
Trustees Emeriti
John Gilmore
<gnu@TOAD.COM> USA
Americas 2000 - 2001
Jun Murai
<Jun@WIDE.AD.JP> JAPAN
Asia-Pacific 2000 - 2001
Jose Luis Pardos
<104056.110@COMPUSERVE.COM> SPAIN
Europe 2000 - 2001
Ben Segal
<B.Segal@CERN.CH> SWITZERLAND
Europe 2000 - 2001
------------------------------------

According to a 1997 ISOC Press Release:
http://www.isoc.org/whatsnew/iahcreport.html
http://www.dnso.org/clubpublic/ga-full/Arc07/msg02817.html

"Internet users will have 7 new generic Top Level Domains (gTLDs)"

.firm, .store, .web, .arts, .rec, .info, .nom

Where are these ?
Did the ISOC mislead the public ?

What did the ISOC do with all the money it collected from Registries ?

What happened to all the money collected from "pre-registrations" ?



BTW...as a Prodigy user, I have had to make no changes to any browser
settings, and enjoy all the new TLDs offered by http://www.New.Net and
others. They appear to offer a stable and reliable service and follow
through with their promises. I do not understand why the ISOC is not
required to follow through with their claims.


Jim Fleming
http://www.DOT-BIZ.com
http://www.unir.com/images/architech.gif
http://www.unir.com/images/address.gif
http://www.unir.com/images/headers.gif
http://www.ntia.doc.gov/ntiahome/domainname/130dftmail/unir.txt
http://msdn.microsoft.com/downloads/sdks/platform/tpipv6/start.asp


--
This message was passed to you via the ga@dnso.org list.
Send mail to majordomo@dnso.org to unsubscribe
("unsubscribe ga" in the body of the message).
Archives at http://www.dnso.org/archives.html



<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>