ICANN/DNSO


DNSO General Assembly
Basic outline of the vote
b09, Motion on DNSO reorganisation

22 October 2001

BASIC OUTLINE OF THE VOTE PROCESS, b09, Vote by the GA on DNSO reorganisation

  1. Timeline:

       Open   Monday 22 October 2001, 16:00 UTC, 18:00 CET (Paris)
       Closed Monday 29 October 2001, 17:00 UTC, 18:00 CET (Paris)
       (For local time in other places see http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/)
    

    The results are due no later than Tuesday 30 October 2001, at 23:00 UTC, 24:00 CET (Paris), and will be published in http://www.dnso.org/dnso/notes/2001.GA-DNSO-Motion-Reorg-vote.html

  2. A ballot is prepared.

    A ballot starts with line "BEGIN" and ends with line "END__".

    It is like this:

    REQUEST: A GA motion on DNSO reorganisation is submitted for your consideration.
    REQUEST: Please vote using 'x' face to your opinion.
    REQUEST: There is no requirement to mark all names.
    REQUEST: This ballot is From: 'gavote@dnso.org' -- please reply without CC to any list.
    IMPORTANT: Please do not strip ballot,
    IMPORTANT: it  MUST start with line BEGIN: (do not edit BEGIN line)
    IMPORTANT: it  MUST end   with line END__: (do not edit END line)
    IMPORTANT: and MUST contain all lines in between.
    
     BEGIN:b09:KabcdZ:FirstName_LastName:email@address.somewhere:SVP-reply
     b09:KabcdZ:[ ] Agree
     b09:KabcdZ:[ ] Disagree
     b09:KabcdZ:[ ] Abstain
     END__:b09:KabcdZ:FirstName_LastName:email@address.somewhere:SVP-reply
    
    
  3. Ballot is assigned a number (first field in a line), here "b09" -- ballot number 09 (it is the ninth ballot submitted to the GA vote since January 2000).

  4. Ballot is personalised. Each line indicates who is voting.

  5. The second field, here between "b09" and "FirstName_LastName", indicate a personalised code given for this ballot to this person. A personalised code is 6 caracteres, starting with "K", ending with "Z", here "KabcdZ".

  6. Do not edit a ballot. Just put a 'x' between square brackets [ ] to vote for a candidate.

    You cast one vote, no more.

  7. A ballot will arrive From: "gavote@dnso.org" -- please reply without CC to any list.

  8. You will receive an aknowledge of your ballot within 48 hours.


Information from:
DNSO Secretariat