[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[registrars] WGC - inclusion of new gTLD's



Fellow Registrars,

I mentioned the working groups in my previous mail, in
particular WGC is currently in its formative stages.  I
suggest that anyone interested in the introduction of new
gTLD's participate in the drafting committees.  If you wish
to be added to a drafting committee, you should be able to
do so by contacting Javier Sola at javier@aui.es 

Regards,
Richard

Here is some more information:

------------------------------------

WG C Drafting committees

DC 1

Preparing a document that responds to the following questions:

Should there be new generic Top Level Domains (gTLDs)? If yes: How many?
Which? At which speed should they be deployed and in which order? What
should be the mechanism for developing new gTLDs after all these are
deployed. Should each new gTLD have a specific charter? 


"Petter Rindforth" <petter.rindforth@enderborg.se>
$BE%(Bennis Jennings$BG(B Dennis.Jennings@ucd.ie 
$BE,(Bilnam Chon$BG(B chon@cosmos.kaist.ac.kr
$BE%(Baiva Tamulioniene$BG(B daiva@sc-uni.ktu.lt 
$BE&(Blisabeth PORTENEUVE$BG(B Elisabeth.PORTENEUVE@cetp.ipsl.fr
$BE&(Bva Fr$Bl(Bich$BG(B eva@nic-se.se
$BE*(Bvan Pope$BG(B ivan@netnames.com
$BE3(Bod Dixon$BG(B 
$BE+(Bonathan Weinberg$BG(B 
"Rita M. Odin" OdinR@arentfox.com
"Christopher Ambler" cambler@iodesign.com
"Cohen, Tod" Tod_Cohen@mpaa.org
"chris conant" cconant@compositiongroup.com 
$BE.(Bilton Mueller$BG(Bmueller@syr.edu
$BE%(Bavid Maher$BG(B dwmaher@ibm.net 
$BE,(Bent Crispin$BG(Bkent@songbird.com

DC 2

Development of a document describing what the registration and data
maintenance procedure for the new registry(ies) should be.

$BE+(Bean-Michel Becar$BG(B Jean-Michel.Becar@etsi.fr
"Christopher Ambler" cambler@iodesign.com
"Tolga Yurderi" tolga@softcomca.com 
$BE#(Barbara Dooley$BG(Bbdooley@cix.org
$BE&(Bric Lee$BG(B lee@cix.org 
$BE,(Bent Crispin$BG(Bkent@songbird.com
$BE&(Bva Fr$Bl(Bich$BG(B eva@nic-se.se

DC 3

Development of a "Call for Tenders for a gTLD registry (or several)" that
the NC would recommend ICANN to issue. The Document should include
responses to the following questions.

How should the new gTLDs be managed? What should the registry(ies) be like?
Is it mandatory to have a new registry(ies)? Why? Does the structure
proposed comply with worldwide concepts of anti-trust law? What information
should be made public by the registry(ies) and how? Obligations of the
registry(ies).


"Mark Langston" <skritch@home.com>
$BE&(Blisabeth PORTENEUVE$BG(B Elisabeth.PORTENEUVE@cetp.ipsl.fr 
$BE"(Bmadeu Abril i Abril$BG(B Amadeu@nominalia.com
$BE,(Bent Crispin$BG(B kent@songbird.com
"Christopher Ambler" cambler@iodesign.com
"Tolga Yurderi" tolga@softcomca.com
$BE%(Bavid Maher$BG(B dwmaher@ibm.net
$BE&(Bva Fr$Bl(Bich$BG(B eva@nic-se.se

-- 
_/_/_/interQ Incorporated
_/_/_/System Division
_/_/_/Director and General Manager
_/_/_/Richard A. S. Lindsay