DNSO Mailling lists archives


<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>

[council] GNSO Council vote for Chair: announcement

[To: council@dnso.org]

Dear Council Members,

At the GNSO Council Teleconference, May 22, 2003, it was decided to:

Elect a GNSO Council chair until the conclusion of the ICANN annual meeting
in 2003. This would align the chair with the terms of the current GNSO
Council members.
From: http://www.icann.org/general/bylaws.htm#XX Article XX: Section 5(6)
"The terms of the GNSO Council members described in paragraph 5 of this
Section 5 shall last for the remainder of their terms under the Old Bylaws,
except that the terms of all of those GNSO Council members shall end at the
conclusion of the ICANN annual meeting in 2003"

The  GNSO Council will vote by e-mail between Friday , June  6, 15:00
UTC and Friday, June 20, 15:00 UTC 2003 to elect the GNSO Council Chair

    1. A call for nominations for GNSO Council Chair was open between 23 May
and 6 June 2003.
Bruce Tonkin was nominated by Philip Sheppard, seconded by Thomas Keller,
Ken Stubbs and Jeff Neuman.
Bruce Tonkin accepted his nomination.

    2.  Therefore, Bruce Tonkin is the only candidate on the
ballot that you will receive.  Each GNSO Council member should fill out the
ballot he or she receives  and should return it by e-mail to
<gnsovote@dnso.org>.  Please do not copy your returned ballot to any

    3.  All ballots from the first round must be received at that e-mail
address no later than Friday June 20, 12:00 UTC.

    4.    The candidate must receive affirmative votes comprising a
majority of the votes of all the members of the GNSO Council.

    5.  Results of this vote will be announced on Monday, June 23,
The results will thus be available to the Council members to check
before confirmation at the GNSO Council meeting.

    6. The vote will be confirmed at the GNSO Council meeting on
Tuesday June  24, in Montreal at 14:00 local time.
For other places see http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/

The votes will be weighed according to the ICANN bylaws
Registrar and Registry Constituency members' votes will count for 2 for each
constuency member, while in the remaining 4 constituencies, each
constituency member's vote will count for 1.

At the start of the e-mail voting procedure, only the 18 current
GNSO Council members may vote.

If you have any difficulties, please contact the GNSO Secretariat at

GNSO Secretariat

<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>