DNSO Names Council Teleconference 28th February 2002 - minutes

28 February 2002.

Proposed agenda and related documents http://www.dnso.org/dnso/notes/20020228.NCteleconf-agenda.html

List of attendees:

Peter de Blanc         ccTLD
Elisabeth Porteneuve   ccTLD
Oscar Robles Garay     ccTLD

Philip Sheppard        Business (*) proxy for voting purposes given to M.Cade
Marilyn Cade           Business (*) acting as proxy for Philip Sheppard
Grant Forsyth          Business absent

Greg Ruth              ISPCP
Antonio Harris         ISPCP    acting as proxy for Tony Holmes
Tony Holmes            ISPCP    absent, apologies, proxy to Tony Harris

Philipp Grabensee      Registrars
Ken Stubbs             Registrars
Bruce Tonkin           Registrars

Roger Cochetti         gTLD  acting as proxy for R.Tindall and (**) Cary Carp
Richard Tindal         gTLD  absent, apologies, proxy given to R.Cochetti
Cary Karp              gTLD  (**) proxy for voting purposes given to R.Cochetti

Ellen Shankman         IP    absent, apologies, proxy given to J.Scott Evans
                                     or in his absence to Laurence Djolakian
Laurence Djolakian     IP   
J. Scott Evans         IP    acting as proxy for Ellen Shankman

Milton Mueller         NCDNH absent, apologies, proxy given to YJ Park
Youn Jung Park         NCDNH acting as proxy for Milton Mueller
Vany Martinez          NCDNH absent

Glen de Saint Géry     NC Secretary
Alix Guillard          MP3 Recording Engineer/Secretariat

MP3 Recording of the meeting by the Secretariat: http://www.dnso.org/dnso/mp3/20020228.NCteleconf.mp3.

Quorum present at 15:10 (all times reported are CET, which is UTC +1:00 during the winter in the Northern hemisphere).

Elisabeth Porteneuve chaired this NC teleconference.

Approval of the Agenda

The agenda was approved.

Agenda item 2. AOB.

Elisabeth Porteneuve started the teleconference with this item on the agenda to give missing Names Council members a chance to join the conference call.

There was general discussion about the President's report "ICANN: The case for reform" http://www.icann.org/announcements/announcement-24feb02.htm, and the following points were made:

Agenda item 1. Election of Names Council Chair.

There were two candidates:

Three possibilities for the vote: any of the two candidates or abstention.

19 Names Council members present or represented by proxies, 2 Names Council members absent.

The voting results:

19 votes casted: 11 for Philip Sheppard, 8 for Cary Karp, no abstentions.

Distribution of votes:

For Philip Sheppard:

Peter de Blanc (ccTLD), Elisabeth Porteneuve (ccTLD), Oscar Robles Garay (ccTLD), Philip Sheppard (Business), Marilyn Cade (Business), Greg Ruth (ISPCP), Antonio Harris (ISPCP), Tony Holmes (ISPCP), Ellen Shankman (IP), Laurence Djolakian (IP), J. Scott Evans (IP)

For Cary Karp:

Philipp Grabensee (Registrars), Ken Stubbs (Registrars), Bruce Tonkin (Registrars), Roger Cochetti (gTLD), Richard Tindal (gTLD), Cary Karp (gTLD), Milton Mueller (NCDNH), Youn Jung Park (NCDNH)

Decision 1: Phillip Sheppard is elected as the NC Chair for the next 6 months.

The Names Council members expressed their gratitude to both excellent candidates for their participation and their wish to dedicate a lot of time of work on the ICANN and DNSO matters.

Elisabeth Porteneuve closed the meeting, congratulated Ph. Sheppard and thanked the members for their participation.

15. 45 end of call.

Next NC meeting , will be held in Accra, Ghana, on Tuesday 12 March at 15:00 UTC see: http://www.icann.org/accra/


Information from:
© DNSO Names Council