Rules for seats at the Names Council

Rules for seats at the Names Council

1 May 2001

The ICANN Bylaws set rules for the DNSO with regard to companies representation and geographic diversity on the Names Council, cf. http://www.icann.org/general/bylaws.htm:

|   Article VI-B, Section 2: THE NAMES COUNCIL
|     (g) No more than one officer, director or employee of a corporation
|         or other organization (including its subsidiaries and affiliates) 
|         shall serve on the NC at any given time.
|   Article VI-B, Section 3: THE CONSTITUENCIES
|     (c) Each Constituency shall select up to three individuals to 
|         represent that Constituency on the NC, no two of whom may 
|         be citizens of the same Geographic Region, as defined in 
|         Article V, Section 6, except that, with the consent of the Board, 
|         this latter requirement may be suspended for the term of 
|         a particular individual upon a showing that it is impracticable 
|         for the Constituency to obtain such geographic diversity. 
|         Any such waiver shall be granted only upon a commitment by 
|         the constituency to a substantive plan to diversify its 
|         membership, thereby minimizing the likelihood of the need 
|         for future waivers from the Board. Notwithstanding the 
|         foregoing, no Constituency may have more representatives on 
|         the NC than there are members of the Constituency.

Since the orgin of the DNSO these rules has been enforced three times:


With regard to the IPC and Business Constituencies, applying (VI-B-2-g):
cf. http://www.dnso.org/dnso/announce/Arc00/msg00015.html
cf. http://www.dnso.org/clubpublic/ga/Arc00/msg00054.html

11 Jul 1999:

In Berlin, May 25th 1999, two MCI WorldCom employees had been
      Susan Anthony     (Trademark, intellectual property, 
                         anti-counterfeiting interests)
      Theresa Swinehart (Commercial and business entities)

ICANN's formal request advised MCI WorldCom that the ICANN Board 
had determined that no more than one employee, officer or director 
of a company may serve on the Names Council at any one time, 
regardless of the constituency the board member might represent.

Pursuant to a formal request by the ICANN CEO, Michael Roberts, on
behalf of the ICANN Board, MCI WorldCom has decided to withdraw
Susan Anthony from serving on the provisional Names Council (pNC) 
representing the International Trademark Association (INTA). 
The new INTA representative is Caroline Chicoine, an attorney
with the law firm of Blackwell Sanders Peper Martin in St. Louis,
Missouri, USA.

On the 9th of July 1999 Susan Anthony sent the notification of this 
change to the Names Council. Effective immediately.
The corresponding changes were done on the dnso.org site.


With regard to the gTLD Constituency, applying (VI-B-2-g): cf. http://www.dnso.org/clubpublic/council/Arc00/msg00204.html

29 Aug 1999:

Update of members in the council@dnso.org list according
to ICANN Board decisions:
 2. deleted 2 former members of the gTLDC (ICANN meeting, August 12)
    "David R. Johnson" 
    "Phil Sbarbaro" 


With regard to the ccTLD Constituency, applying (VI-B-3-c): cf. http://www.dnso.org/clubpublic/council/Arc02/msg00198.html

RESOLVED [99-__] that in recognizing the ccTLD Registries Constituency the
Board  shortens the term on the Names Council of Nigel Roberts to expire
January 15, 2000, and consents to suspend the geographic diversity
requirement of Article VI-B, Section 3(c)of the ICANN Bylaws as applied to
the ccTLD Registries Constituency, for the period of Nigel Roberts' term,
subject to the Board promptly receiving a written commitment from the ccTLD
Registries Constituency to comply with the geographic diversity requirement
as set forth in Art. VI-B, Sec. 3(c) of the ICANN Bylaws from and after that

>>> The ccTLD Constituency had only 2 seats on the NC until 4 June 2000,
    when Nii Quaynor' election get notified to the Names Council.
    cf. http://www.dnso.org/clubpublic/council/Arc03/msg00684.html

Information from:
DNSO Secretariat