ICANN/DNSO


DNSO General Assembly
Basic outline of the election process
b10, Vote by the GA to designate its representative to the Names Council Transfer Task Force

3 January 2002

BASIC OUTLINE OF THE ELECTION PROCESS, b10, Vote by the GA to designate its representative to the Names Council Transfer Task Force

  1. Timeline:

       Opens:  Thursday  3 January 2002, 16:00 UTC, 17:00 CET (Paris), 
       Closes: Thursday 10 January 2002, 15:00 UTC, 16:00 CET (Paris) 
       (For local time in other places see http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/)
    

    The results are due no later than Friday 11 January 2002, at 16:00 UTC, 17:00 CET (Paris), and will be published in http://www.dnso.org/dnso/notes/2001.GA-TransferTF-vote.html

  2. A ballot is prepared.

    A ballot starts with line "BEGIN" and ends with line "END__".

    It is like this:

    REQUEST: Please mark a preference, using '1' for the most favored
    REQUEST: candidate, '2' for the second, and so on.
    REQUEST: There is no requirement to mark all names.
    REQUEST: This ballot is From: 'gavote@dnso.org' -- please reply without CC to any list.
    IMPORTANT: Please do not strip ballot,
    IMPORTANT: it  MUST start with line BEGIN: (do not edit BEGIN line)
    IMPORTANT: it  MUST end   with line END__: (do not edit END line)
    IMPORTANT: and MUST contain all lines in between.
    
     BEGIN:b10:KabcdZ:FirstName_LastName:email@address.somewhere:SVP-reply
     b10:KabcdZ:[ ] Dan Steinberg
     b10:KabcdZ:[ ] Eric Dierker 
     b10:KabcdZ:[ ] Jeffrey A Williams 
     END__:b10:KabcdZ:FirstName_LastName:email@address.somewhere:SVP-reply
    
    
  3. Ballot is assigned a number (first field in a line), here "b10" -- ballot number 10 (it is the tenth ballot submitted to the GA vote since January 2000).

  4. Ballot is personalised. Each line indicates who is voting.

  5. The second field, here between "b10" and "FirstName_LastName", indicate a personalised code given for this ballot to this person. A personalised code is 6 caracteres, starting with "K", ending with "Z", here "KabcdZ".

  6. Do not edit a ballot. Just put a number between square brackets [ ] to rank candidates.

    You cast one vote, no more.

  7. A ballot will arrive From: "gavote@dnso.org" -- please reply without CC to any list.

  8. You will receive an aknowledge of your ballot within 48 hours.

  9. "Election Rules for the DNSO GA V0.2" approved on 23 March 2001 http://www.dnso.org/dnso/notes/2001.GA-chair-election-rules-v0.2.html


Information from:
DNSO Secretariat