ICANN/DNSO


DNSO General Assembly
Basic outline of the voting process

26 June 2000

BASIC OUTLINE OF THE VOTING PROCESS

  1. A ballot is prepared.

    A ballot starts with line "BEGIN" and ends with line "END__".

    It is like this:

     BEGIN:b01:KabcdZ:FirstName_LastName:email@address.somewhere:SVP-reply
     b01:KabcdZ:[ ] I want the voting rules at www.dnso.org/dnso/notes/2000.GA-voting-rules.html to be approved
     b01:KabcdZ:[ ] I do not want the voting rules at www.dnso.org/dnso/notes/2000.GA-voting-rules.html to be approved
     END__:b01:KabcdZ:FirstName_LastName:email@address.somewhere:SVP-reply
    
  2. Ballot is assigned a number (first field in a line), here "b01" -- ballot number 01.

  3. Ballot is personalised. Each line indicates who is voting.

  4. The second field, here between "b01" and "FirstName_LastName", indicate a personalised code given for this ballot to this person. A personalised code is 6 caracteres, starting with "K", ending with "Z", here "KabcdZ".

  5. Do not edit a ballot. Just put an "X" between square brackets [ ] if you give your vote to a statement written in a line.

    You cast one vote, no more.

  6. A ballot will arrive From: "ga01vote@dnso.org" -- please reply without CC to any list.

  7. You will receive an aknowledge of your ballot within 48 hours.

  8. Time for the startup vote

    • Begins: Monday 26 June 22:00 UTC

      (15:00 LA, 18:00 New York, 24:00 Paris, 07:00 next day Tokyo)

    • Ends: Wednesday 05 July 22:00 UTC

      (15:00 LA, 18:00 New York, 24:00 Paris, 07:00 next day Tokyo)

  9. Voting rules submitted for the startup vote http://www.dnso.org/dnso/notes/2000.GA-voting-rules.html

  10. Voting roster http://www.dnso.org/secretariat/rosterindex.html


Information from:
DNSO GA's Chair