DNSO Mailling lists archives


<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>

RE: [registrars] PersonalNames.com

Dear Fran - The registrant constituency is very concerned about the apparent new direct channel launched by GNR.  We request that you urgently hold a conference call with the constituency prior to Feb.1 in order to brief us on this development

Elana Broitman
575 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10018
Phone (212) 798-9215
Fax   (212) 244-9589

-----Original Message-----
From: Rob Hall [mailto:rob@momentous.com]
Sent: Tuesday, January 28, 2003 11:51 AM
To: Elana Broitman; Registrars Mail List
Subject: RE: [registrars] PersonalNames.com

I concur, especially in light of the statement on their website:
"Personal Names Limited is a wholly owned subsidiary of Global Name Registry Limited, the Internet Registry for the .name Top-Level-Domain, accredited by ICANN. This gives Personal Names Limited a unique desire to serve customers better than any other .name provider in the marketplace."
It would seem to imply that because GNR is accredited by ICANN, that Personal Names is as well (or at least, it is very cleverly and confusingly worded).
-----Original Message-----
From: Elana Broitman [mailto:ebroitman@register.com]
Sent: Tuesday, January 28, 2003 11:42 AM
To: 'Rob Hall'; Registrars Mail List
Subject: RE: [registrars] PersonalNames.com

Rob - this is, indeed, very disturbing.  Since they don't launch for a week, our ExCom should ask on an emergency basis for .name to hold a call with registrars to explain the situation.  don't you think?  We should have Dan Halloran involved.
-----Original Message-----
From: Rob Hall [mailto:rob@momentous.com]
Sent: Tuesday, January 28, 2003 11:39 AM
To: Registrars Mail List
Subject: [registrars] PersonalNames.com

It seems that the Global Name Registry has decided to start selling domains to end users directly.

Check out www.personalnames.com .

I don't see them on the ICANN accredited registrars list, but that could just not have been updated yet.  I trust they won't just be bypassing the process.

I also note that they claim they won't be publishing any of the "personal details" of a user in the whois.   I hope they aren't bypassing any rules that the rest of us must follow.

From the site
Personal Names is committed to protecting your privacy in the Whois service. Therefore, none of your personal details will be published in the .name Whois service. You can put your own, personal details in the Whois service if you wish. To do this, please contact customer service who will love to be of assistance.

All in all, I think this is something we may want to look into more.  When a Registry simply starts bypassing Registrars, I have great concerns.



<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>