DNSO Mailling lists archives


<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>

Re: [council] good bye

Thomas, and Alexander:

And many thanks to both of you for the outstanding and thoughtful 
leadership you have shown. There is no doubt that your good work will 
continue by other means, and ICANN is and will be that much better 
off because of it.
With warm regards


>At some point of time between 9:10 and 9:40 a.m. Amsterdam time on
>Sunday, the DNSO ceased to be (and will, perhaps not unlike a
>phoenix from the ashes, become the GNSO). Likewise, the DNSO GA has
>ceased to be as an /official/ part of the ICANN structure.
>Consequently, we have ceased to be its Chair and Alternate Chair --
>we were elected for 2002 anyhow, and any concern that we might
>become GA-Chair-Squatters is unfounded: This is our farewell
>message. :)
>But although the GA loses the formal role it has had, it will not
>vanish into thin air and there is no reason to unsubscribe: This
>list will continue its informal but important role as a forum for
>information and discussion about DNS and ICANN issues, and we hope
>that people from the ICANN Board, the SO Councils and the GNSO
>Constituencies will stay tuned. Earlier, we called for volunteers to
>help our own transition. This GA Transition Team will help to ensure
>that the GA remains an open, but rules-based list regardless whether
>it is run under the formal custodianship of the DNSO, GNSO or
>perhaps the ALAC in the end.
>2002 was a turbulent year, and this was certainly reflected in the
>GA. We have to thank a great number of you for your participation,
>assistance and encouragement. We owe particular thanks to the DNSO
>Secretariat for the great cooperation -- merci Glen, and merci
>Elisabeth! We also would like to thank the GA Representatives for
>the good job they did on the Task Forces. Finally, thanks to the
>volunteers (Abel and Ross) joining us on the Transition Team.
>When we say farewell, we're of course not really going away -- and
>we're quite sure that you, the GA participants, will stay around,
>too. We wish you all Happy Holidays and a Happy New Year!
>     Thomas Roessler (former GA Chair)
>     Alexander Svensson (former GA Alternate Chair)


Stuart Lynn
President and CEO
4676 Admiralty Way, Suite 330
Marina del Rey, CA 90292
Tel: 310-823-9358
Fax: 310-823-8649
Email: lynn@icann.org

<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>