DNSO Mailling lists archives


<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>

[council] Harald Alverstrand nominated IETF Chair

Names Council Colleagues,

It is an extreme pleasure to inform you that Harald Alvestrand
has been nominated IETF Chair.
Congratulations Harald !


Date: Fri, 23 Feb 2001 22:19:30 +0100
To: ga@dnso.org
From: Harald Alvestrand <Harald@Alvestrand.no>
Subject: [ga] Fwd: Please Welcome the Incoming IESG and IAB 

This should explain why I feel that I have to decline nomination for
another period in the GA leadership....

>To: IETF-Announce: ;
>From: "Bernard Aboba" <aboba@internaut.com>
>Subject: Please Welcome the Incoming IESG and IAB
>Date: Fri, 23 Feb 2001 07:51:00 -0500
>Sender: mbeaulie@cnri.reston.va.us
>The 2000 IETF Nominations Committee has now completed its
>work; the IAB has approved the IESG recommendations, and
>the ISOC has approved the IAB recommendations. Please join
>us in welcoming the incoming members of the IESG and IAB:
>Harald Alvestrand     IETF Chair
>Scott Bradner          Transport
>Randy Bush             Operations & Management
>Patrik Faltstrom       Applications
>Thomas Narten         Internet
>Abha Ahuja             Routing
>Jeff Schiller            Security
>Ran Atkinson
>Rob Austein
>Fred Baker
>Steve Deering
>Sally Floyd
>Geoff Huston
>A word of thanks
>This year we have had extraordinary participation at all
>points in the nomcom process, and so I would like to thank
>the IETF community for doing your part in helping the nomcom
>select the incoming members of the IESG and IAB.
>Firstly, I would like to thank everyone who volunteered to
>participate in this year's nominations committee (more than
>100 of you!).
>I'd also like to thank the members of the 2000 nominations
>committee, who volunteered to participate in the weekly 1-hour
>conference calls, which eventually became twice weekly 3.5 hour
>conference calls. This year's nomcom, as with previous nomcoms,
>observed both the letter and spirit of RFC 2727. Many thanks.
>The IETF community was extremely generous this year in sending
>us your thoughts on the present and future of the IETF, the
>performance of the incumbents, and suggestions for potential
>candidates for the IESG and IAB. For that we are deeply
>grateful -- your guidance informed the nomcom process every
>step of the way.
> >From your responses, it is obvious that this community is
>passionate about the future of the Internet and is devoted to
>seeing it thrive.
>Thanks to those who were nominated, but declined to run, for
>considering candidacy on the IAB and IESG. For many of you, who
>are qualified and have the desire to serve, but not the time,
>this was a difficult decision to make. We appreciate your
>realism and honesty.
>Special thanks to those who were nominated and consented to
>candidacy. Many of you had to have difficult discussions with
>your management and family members before deciding to run. We
>appreciate your willingness to put career and family aside in
>order to serve the IETF.
>We also appreciate the effort you put into completing the
>questionairre, and in some cases a supplemental questionairre
>and interview.
>It was a very gratifying to read your profound thoughts about
>the future of the Internet as well as more mundane concerns
>about the day to day management issues we face in the IETF.
>Due to the outstanding response to our call to service, we had
>many more qualified candidates than we had slots on the IESG
>and IAB. While this pays hommage to the IETF's strength as an
>organization, it also by its nature must result in disappointment
>for many qualified candidates.
>I hope those of you who we could not select will understand that
>the nomcom's decision does not in any way detract from your
>tremendous contributions to the Internet. We hope that your
>disappointment in this year's process will not disuade you from
>volunteering for candidacy next year, and the year after that.
>The IETF needs you.
>Finally, I would like to thank the incoming members of the IAB
>and IESG, who have pledged so much of their time and energy to
>the betterment of the IETF in the years ahead. We of the nomcom,
>after having spent considerable effort in the last few months
>assisting in your selection, now have a greater appreciation of
>the personal sacrifices that you have made for the IETF and even
>greater respect for the role that you play.
>Our best wishes for your success in the years ahead,
>The 2000 Nominations Committee
>Phil Roberts <qa3445@email.mot.com>
>Stuart Cheshire <cheshire@apple.com>
>Perry E. Metzger <perry@piermont.com>
>Bill Woodcock <woody@zocalo.net>
>Hadriel Kaplan <hadriel@nortelnetworks.com>
>Alain Durand <alain.durand@eng.sun.com>
>Vijay Srinivasan <vijay.srinivasan@cosinecom.com>
>Hal Sandick <hsandick@nortelnetworks.com>
>David Robinson <david.robinson@ebay.sun.com>
>David Allan <dallan@nortelnetworks.com>
>Non-voting members:
>Bernard Aboba <aboba@internaut.com> (Chair)
>Avri Doria <avri@nortelnetworks.com> (Past Chair)
>Leslie Daigle <leslie@thinkingcat.com> (IAB liason)
>Allison Mankin <mankin@isi.edu> (IESG liason)
>The role of non-voting members (from RFC 2727)
>The nominations committee comprises at least a non-voting Chair,
>10 voting volunteers, and 3 non-voting liaisons.  The sitting
>IAB and IESG members each appoint a non-voting liaison to the
>nominating committee from their current membership who are not
>sitting in an open position.  The Chair of the prior year's
>nominating committee also serves as a non-voting liaison.

Harald Tveit Alvestrand, alvestrand@cisco.com
+47 41 44 29 94
Personal email: Harald@Alvestrand.no

<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>